stacks of coins with a plant growing out it, final and tallest stack has a graduation hat


Keith Behner Scholarship

This scholarship fund is the generous gift of donor Keith Behner.  It awards up to twelve $1,000 scholarships per year to Political Science majors at all class levels, from incoming freshmen to graduate students.

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be Political Science majors, have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, and demonstrate financial need, as determined by the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships. 

Applicants submit an essay  (200 words maximum) that reflects their passion for Political Science as well as a supplemental application form.

The application deadline generally falls in February, and awards apply toward fees for the following academic year. 

More information at the SDSU Scholarships page.


Ned Joy Memorial Scholarship

This endowed fund honors a former Professor and Chair of the Political Science department. After serving as an Army Air Forces aviator during WWII, Dr. Ned Joy received his Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of California, Berkeley in 1952. In addition to serving as a professor in the Political Science department, he served SDSU in many other capacities over a period of 29 years: Chair of Political Science from 1966 to 1969, Dean of Undergraduate Studies from 1969-1972, Acting Vice President of Academic Affairs from 1972-1973, Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs from 1973 to 1980, and Acting University Librarian from 1980-1982. In addition to these appointments, he was elected to the Academic Senate in 1960 and continued as a member until 1973. In 1987, Dr. Joy was the first former SDSU faculty member to be awarded an outstanding achievement award by the SDSU chapter of Mortar Board, a national honor society. He also was a former president of the San Diego chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union and of Friends of the Malcolm A. Love Library.

The Ned Joy Memorial Scholarship offers scholarships for Political Science or International Security and Conflict Resolution (ISCOR) majors at any class level, alternating years between these two majors.  Students must have a minimum 3.0 overall cumulative GPA and submit an essay (approximately 500 words). The application deadline is usually in February.

More information at the SDSU Scholarships page.


Terhune Political Science Scholarship

This endowed fund provides scholarships for graduate students in Political Science.  Some scholarships are offered to applicants to our program to offset their educational costs for their first year of study. Others support graduate research, program costs, or conference travel.  Students may apply for Terhune research support once during their career. 

More information can be found on the Fincial Support page of our graduate section. 


Louis M. Terrell Scholarship

This scholarship fund honors a former Professor and Chair of the Political Science department.  Louis M. Terrell joined the department in 1969, having received his Ph.D. from Stanford University.  He chaired the department three different times:  1974-1977, 1989-1995, and 2000-2003.  An expert on international relations and U.S. foreign policy, Terrell was also active in the community, serving as president of Planned Parenthood for San Diego and Riverside Counties, on the Board of Directors of the American Civil Liberties Union for San Diego and Imperial Counties, and as mayor for the city of Del Mar. 

The Terrell fund can support SDSU Political Science students at any class level. When funds are allocated, the Political Science Scholarship Committee solicits applications from our undergraduate and graduate majors, who apply using a departmental application form.

The Terrell fund gives preference to students who need financial support for an internship experience in Washington, D.C..


Additional outside funding resources can be found in Canvas.