Department of Political Science

Named 2015 College of Arts and Letters Department of the Year by students


Contact Information
Phone. (619) 594-6244
Fax: (619) 594-7302

Nasatir Hall 126
Mail Code: 4427
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego CA, 92182-4427
Office Hours: M-F 8:30-4:00

Alumni join us on Linked in


Last Update: 9/16/15


Welcome to the Political Science Department at San Diego State University. The department was founded in 1948 and the graduate Masters program was added in 1954. We currently have 21 full-time faculty, 10 associated lecturers, more than 670 undergraduate majors, and approximately 60 graduate students. The department offers undergraduate courses in the four main subfields of the discipline - U.S. Politics, Political Theory, Comparative Politics, and International Relations. The graduate program offers the choice between a general political science M.A., a Comparative/IR specialization, or a Public Policy specialization.


News and Events

DC Internship Meeting

Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4-5 pm
in SSW 2512

Spend a semester in DC doing a substantive internship, take a class and also participate in programming through the Washington Center.

Open to all upper division students in any major. Students may take the semester through POLS 498 or for credit in a designated course in your department.

Learn more about the program by attending this meeting.

View the flyer (.pdf)


Certificate in Public Law

Interested in the law? The department is now offering a Certificate in Public Law. The certificate allows students to obtain multiple perspectives on the use of law to regulate social problems; to strengthen critical thinking skills; to learn to form and defend arguments.

More information

San Diego State University